About Us

Our Mission

The Alameda County

Agricultural Fair Association

The Alameda County Agricultural Fair Association, a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation, produces the annual Alameda
County Fair and manages the 267-acre fairgrounds property in Pleasanton, California. The Association operates as
an agent of the County of Alameda.

As a year-round event center, Alameda County Fairgrounds also hosts more than 300 commercial & private events each year and operates the Fairpark RV Campground, Pleasanton Off-Track Betting and other on-site services. The Association is completely self-supporting and receives no funding from tax revenue.

The Alameda County Fair made its debut in Pleasanton in 1912 and has continued as a celebration of the heritage and diversity of the community for more than 100 years. It is ranked among the top 50 Fairs in the U.S. and has won numerous national and international industry awards.

The Fairgrounds is also home to the historic Pleasanton Race Track, the oldest, one-mile dirt track in America. Built in 1858 by the Bernal family, the track originally served as a winter horse training facility. Over the years, some of California’s greatest racehorses including the legendary Seabiscuit were known to have trained at the property. Live horseracing at the meticulously maintained track remains one of the Fair’s flagship events.

Board of Directors

The Board is comprised of 21 business & community leaders representing different areas of the county.

Gordon Galvan, President
Craig Smith, Vice President
Jerome Hoban, CEO
Randy Magee, CFO

Jack Balch, Fremont
Allen Aldrich, Pleasanton
Dawna Dos Santos, Alameda
Bill Harrison, Fremont
Ed Hernandez, San Leandro

Frank Imhof, Pleasanton
Rose Johnson, Pleasanton
Clayton Koopmann, Sunol
Mike Mahoney, Hayward
Chuck Moore, Castro Valley
George Pacheco, Castro Valley
Don Sherratt, Alameda

Robert Silva, Pleasanton
John Smith, Fremont
Tim Weaver, Livermore
Eric Wente, Livermore
Robin Wilma, Hayward



Guest Photography

Guests are welcome to take photographs while visiting the Fairgrounds with the following exceptions:

Photographing individuals without their consent is not permitted

Professional or amateur photographers not employed or contracted by Alameda County Fair must obtain a signed consent waiver form from each person they photograph at the Fair

Photographing minors (any person under the age of 18) without the consent of parent/guardian, is unlawful and strictly prohibited!

Official Photography

Alameda County Fair reserves the right to photograph, film, videotape, record or otherwise reproduce the image and/or voice of any/all persons who enter the fairgrounds, and use same, for any purpose without payment or compensation to individual(s) photographed.

Drone Policy

In order to ensure the safety, security, privacy and property interests of the Alameda County Fairgrounds, the use of drones is strictly prohibited within the Fairgrounds property and/or air space without prior written consent. Violators may be subject to removal and/or arrest.